Model Assembly

An incredibly realistic and complex simulation of Minnesota state government. Approximately 1,600 students in grades 8-12 take part in the Model Assembly Session every January.



What Do I Do?

The opportunities for discovery and growth are virtually limitless. The Model Assembly program is conducted almost entirely by students. Participants have opportunities to serve in a number of different program areas. They can serve as  legislators, judges, attorneys, lobbyists, and cabinet members, media representatives, or introductory Leadership Corps. members.

You may navigate through the listings in the left sidebar for additional information.


  • Focus on state and local issues
  • Meet YIG participants from across the state
  • Choose from many program area options
  • Gain leadership positions in this entirely student-led state government 

Conference Date

January 4 – January 7, 2018


September – December


Students grades 8-12 from around Minnesota


Minneapolis Hilton
1001 Marquette Avenue
Minneapolis, MN

Minnesota State Capitol Complex
75 Rev Dr Martin Luther King Junior Boulevard
St. Paul, MN 


There are two parts to the cost: the State Fee and the Delegation Fee.

State Fee is $425* and includes:

  • Transportation during the conference
  • Conference fees
  • 3 nights in the conference hotel

Delegation Fee varies by delegation and includes:

  • Transportation to and from the conference
  • Varied delegation-specific expenses

*Discounts applied for early registration (prior to October 3) and limited financial assistance available to those who qualify

2018 Governor Hayden Schutt

2018 Lt. Governor Brent Hauck

2018 Secretary of State Joe Anderson

2018 Speaker of Sanford House Caroline Koehl

2018 President of Knutson Senate Andrew Baran

2018 Speaker of Humphrey House Justin Scheerer

2018 Speaker of Sibley House Charles Schumer

2018 President of Stassen Senate David Scheerer

2018 President of Ramsey Senate Cole Bye

2018 Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Anna Bixby

2018 Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals 

2018 Chief Judge of the District Court Sadhika Prabhu

2018 Chief Judge of the Trial Court Meredith Kleve

2018 Lobbyist Director Neha Rokkam

2018 National Issues Forum Presiding Officer Devinn Butler

2018 Media Director Jack Tousignant